FNQ Regional Roads & Transport Group

The FNQ Regional Roads and Transport Group is a part of the Roads & Transport Alliance which is a cooperative governance arrangement between LGAQ, on behalf of all Queensland local governments, and TMR to invest in and regionally manage the Queensland transport network.  The Alliance was established in 2002 to create a more collaborative and coordinated approach to road management and investment.

In general, the underlying governing principles of the RRTGs, with the support of their Technical Committee’s (TC), are to continuously improve the Local Roads of Regional Significance (LRRS) network for the travelling public, and improve the knowledge, decision making, capability and efficiency of the members. 

Regional Road and Transport Groups (RRTGs) are responsible for:-

  • Determining the “Local Roads of Regional Significance”
  • Adopting and operating asset management practices
  • Managing regional funding and investment
  • Establishing and utilising regional investment strategies in road network planning and prioritisation
  • Adopting and implementing practices for works program development including investment strategy development and project prioritisation procedures 
  • Adopting policy to increase joint purchasing and resource sharing and maximise the potential benefits from this initiative
  • Reviewing and planning for improved capability across Transport and Local Government workforces
  • Introducing change management procedures that will provide continuous guidance on achieving targets of the Roads Alliance

General meetings are held bi-monthly comprising of members of FNQROC, TMR, Roads and Transport Alliance and LGAQ.  

FNQ Regional Roads & Transport Group Meeting Packs


FNQ Regional Roads & Transport Group - Technical Committee

FNQ Regional Roads & Transport Group - Technical Committee Meeting Agendas & Minutes (2019)


FNQ Regional Roads & Transport Group - Resources & Documentation

Roads & Transport Group Portal

Log into the Portal 


For further information, please contact FNQROC Regional Strategic Infrastructure Coordinator:

Lachlan Rankine  l  P: 4044 3684  l  M: 0428 486 447 l E: email/l.rankine)(fnqroc.qld.gov.au


Representatives and Technical Committee

Member Regional Roads & Transport Group Member Representative Regional Roads & Transport Group
Technical Committee Representative
Cairns Regional Council Cr Terry James Mr Michael Ringer (Deputy Chair)  
Cassowary Coast Regional Council Cr John Kremastos  Mr David Goodman 
Cook Shire Council Cr Peter Scott (Chair) Mr David Klye
Croydon Shire Council  Cr Trevor Pickering Mr Gary Pickering
Douglas Shire Council Cr Julia Leu Mr Michael Kriedemann
Etheridge Shire Council Cr Warren Devlin Mr Simon Ginn
Mareeba Shire Council

Cr Tom Gilmore (Deputy Chair)

Mr Andrew Foster
Tablelands Regional Council Cr Annette Haydon Mr Ashley Greenwood (Chair)
Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council Cr Desmond Tayley Mr Victor Mills
Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council Cr Ross Andrews Ms Dawn Lake
Department of Transport and Main Roads Mr Ross Hodgman, District Director

Mr Darryl Jones