Etheridge Shire Council

Etheridge Shire is located in FNQ approx. 1,800 km north-west of the Brisbane CBD and 400 km south-west of the Cairns CBD.  Etheridge Shire has a land area of approx. 39,300 square kilometers and a population of approx 800 people.  Etheridge Shire is predominantly rural, with small townships of Georgetown, Einasleigh, Forsayth and Mount Suprise.  Land is used larely for agriculture, particularly cattle grazing and crop growing, with mining and tourism also important industries.

  • Mayor:  Cr Barry Hughes (BIO)
  • Deputy Mayor:  Laurell Royes