Climate Resilience Technical Committee

 The Climate Resilience Technical Committee is a group of Far North Queensland Councils and organisations working together to manage risks and develop opportunities for a climate-resilient and low-carbon future.  

Following the success of the Rivers to Reef Climate Resilient Alliance group established in 2022, the CRTC focuses on climate mitigation, transition and adaption opportunities that deliver social, environmental, and economic benefits.

Facilitated by FNQROC, members work together, sharing resources and learnings to inform the development and implementation of strategic plans including:

-          Regional Drought Resilience Plan for Gulf Hinterland and Wet Tropics

-          QRA Local Resilience Action Plans for Far North Queensland region

-          FNQROC Rivers to Reef Climate Alliance Action Plan

Committee meetings are held quarterly.


Find out more  


Rivers to Reef Climate Resilient Alliance

The Rivers to Reef Climate Resilient Alliance was part of a pilot project through the Queensland Climate Resilient Councils program delivered by the Local Government Association Queensland, thanks to funding from the Queensland Government.

Facilitated by FNQROC, the Alliance group founding members are Cairns Regional Council, Mareeba Shire Council, Tablelands Regional Council and Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council. Together the Far North Queensland councils worked together to manage risks and develop opportunities for a climate resilient, low carbon future.

The Alliance developed and implemented the River to Reef Climate Alliance Action Plan

Find out more  

Regional Climate risks and opportunities: at a glance


Guiding resources and programs

 Climate risk management framing

Policy setting


  • Queensland Climate Resilient Councils - aimed at improving climate risk management practices and governance, run by LGAQ
  • Cities Power Partnership - a pledge program connecting over 150 Australian local governments with knowledge sharing and collaboration opportunities.
  • QCoast2100 - Queensland councils' Coastal Hazards Adapatation Strategy development and implementation.

Practice Tools and Precedent Hub

Climate risk governance

Regional precedence

Transitioning to a low carbon economy (emissions reduction)

Dashboards and maps

Energy management and renewables

Emissions management and accounting

Environmental markets and offsets 


Procurement and infrastructure

Adaptation and physical risks

Dashboards and maps

Risk assesments

Guiding materials

Coastal hazards


Planning and the built environment



Health and wellbeing

Agriculture and food systems

Stakeholder policies

Community engagement


The Keeping Our Cool Toolkit equips local councils and organisations to increase community awareness about heatwaves, health risks, and measures to mitigate risks for humans, animals, and wildlife. 

In Far North Queensland, increased heatwave events coupled with high humidity pose significant health risks to communities, animals, and ecosystems. Responding to this growing threat, the Climate Resilience Technical Committee and regional experts collaborated to create an awareness toolkit. Tailored for vulnerable communities in the far north, the toolkit draws from coronial data pinpointing at-risk cohorts in the area, offering a strategic approach to building resilience. 

To obtain a copy of the Keeping Our Cool Toolkit, please email the FNQROC Regional Climate Resilience Coordinator at email/MariaAnselmo)(

Keeping Our Cool Toolkit Items 


  1. Toolkit Guide 

A short guide explaining how to implement a Keeping Our Cool campaign  

  1. Personas Deck 

Individual persona factsheets with information on vulnerable cohorts. Recommend using the personas to run workshops.  

  1. Key Messages 

These key messages are to inspire and be incorporated into the development of further communication materials that support the campaign.  

  1. Artwork   

Includes five social media tiles, a website banner, an email signature, and an infographic poster. In PDF and JPEG format. 

  1. Heatwave Preparedness Checklist 

Checklist for households to use in preparation for heatwave events. PDF format.  

  1. Website Content  

An example of content that can be used on the Council’s webpage.  

  1. Social Media Content 

An example of various social media posts for each of the three stages: Plan & Prepare, Respond and Recover.  

  1. Email Content  

Example of content for direct email to subscribers/vulnerable cohorts for stages: Prepare and Respond.   

  1. Text Message Alert Content  

Example content for text message alerts to vulnerable cohorts during each of the three stages:  Prepare, Respond and Recover.  

  1. Design Elements 

Design elements of artwork that can be used to create additional design elements.  



For further information, please contact the Regional Climante Resilience Coordinator

Maria Anselmo | 0491 960 940 | email/m.anselmo)(