

MINUTES OF THE 28TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MONDAY 12 October 2020 @ 09:00am

Civic Reception Room, Cairns Regional Council, Cairns

REPRESENTATIVES: Cr Bob Manning, Mayor Cairns Regional Council

Cr Jack Bawden, Mayor Carpentaria Shire Council

VIA PHONE Cr Mark Nolan, Mayor Cassowary Coast Regional Council

VIA PHONE Cr Trevor Pickering, Mayor Croydon Shire Council

Cr Michael Kerr, Mayor Douglas Shire Council

VIA PHONE Cr Barry Hughes, Mayor Etheridge Shire Council

VIA PHONE Cr Ramon Jayo, Mayor Hinchinbrook Shire Council

Cr Jason Woibo, Mayor Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council

DEPUTY CHAIR Cr Angela Toppin, Mayor Mareeba Shire Council

Cr Rod Marti, Mayor Tablelands Regional Council

Cr Ross Andrews, Mayor Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council

CEO'S: Mr John Andrejic, CEO Cairns Regional Council

Mr Mark Crawley, CEO Carpentaria Shire Council

VIA PHONE Mr Bill Kerwin, CEO Croydon Shire Council

Mr Mark Stoermer, CEO Douglas Shire Council

VIA PHONE Mr Ken Timms, CEO Etheridge Shire Council

Mr Mark Kelleher, CEO Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council

Mr Peter Franks, CEO Mareeba Shire Council

Mr Steve Wilton, CEO Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council

Mr Leon Yeatman, CEO Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council

OBSERVERS: PHONE Mr Gurbindar Singh, CFO Cassowary Coast Regional Council

VIA PHONE Cr Mary Brown, Councillor Hinchinbrook Shire Council



FNQROC STAFF: Ms Darlene Irvine Executive Officer

Ms Linda Richardson Executive Coordinator

Ms Amanda Hancock Procurement Coordinator

Mr Travis Sydes Natural Assets & Sustainability Coordinator

Mr Lachlan Rankine Strategic Infrastructure Coordinator

APOLOGIES: Cr Peter Scott, Mayor, Chair Cook Shire Council

Cr Bradley Creek, Mayor Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council

Mr James Gott, CEO Cassowary Coast Regional Council

Ms Linda Cardew, CEO Cook Shire Council

Mr Alan Rayment, CEO Hinchinbrook Shire Council

Mr Bob Owens, Acting CEO Tablelands Regional Council

994 Chair's Opening Remarks and acknowledgement of Traditional Owners

The Deputy Chair advised that Cr Peter Scott, Chair, has been delayed due to a late arriving flight and was not due until 9.30am.

The Deputy Chair opened the meeting at 9.05am and acknowledged the Traditional Owners of the land on which we meet today, paying respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

The Deputy Chair also acknowledged the Mayors and CEOs of Cassowary, Croydon and Etheridge attending by phone. A welcome was also extended to Mr Ken Timms, new CEO for Etheridge Shire.

995 Apologies

As noted

996 Confirmation of Minutes

MOVED: Cr Manning **SECOND:** Cr Woibo

"That the minutes of the 27th Annual General Meeting held on 14th October 2019 be confirmed."

CARRIED



997 FNQROC Annual Report

The Deputy Chair extended her thanks for the comprehensive annual report within the agenda.

MOVED: Cr Kerr

SECOND: Cr Andrews

"That the FNQROC Annual Report 2019-20 be adopted as tabled".

CARRIED

998 FNQROC Audited Financials & Report

MOVED: Cr Manning **SECOND:** Cr Andrews

"That the Audited Financials and Report for the period 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2020 be adopted."

CARRIED

999 Election of Chair

D Irvine declared all positions vacant and called for nominations for the position of Chair.

Cr Michael Kerr, Mayor - Douglas Shire Council

NOMINATED BY: Cr Bawden

Cr Kerr accepted the nomination for Chair.

There being no further nominations Cr Kerr was declared elected as Chair of FNQROC. Cr Kerr thanked the board for the nomination and acknowledged and thanked Cr Scott for the work he had undertaken as the Chair to date.

1000 Election of Deputy Chair

Cr Kerr called for nominations for the position of Deputy Chair

Cr Angela Toppin, Mayor - Mareeba Shire Council

NOMINATED BY: Cr Woibo

Cr Toppin accepted the nomination for Deputy Chair.

There being no further nominations Cr Toppin was declared elected as Deputy Chair of FNQROC.



1001 Appointment of Secretariat and Treasurer

MOVED: Cr Bawden **SECOND**: Cr Toppin

"That the Executive Officer be appointed as the Secretariat and Treasurer"

CARRIED

1002 Election of Auditor

MOVED: Cr Marti **SECOND:** Cr Toppin

"It was recommended that subject to QAO approval to appoint our own auditor and appropriate costs, Halpin Partners Accountants be appointed auditor for the 2020/21 financial year."

CARRIED

1003 Payment of Honorarium to Chair

MOVED: Cr Bawden **SECOND:** Cr Toppin

"That the Chairs honorarium be \$6,000.00 for the 20/21 Financial Year and Cr Peter Scott be paid a pro rata amount for his services from 01 April 2020 to 12 October 2020.

CARRIED

1004 FNQROC Charter Review

MOVED: Cr Bawden **SECOND:** Cr Kerr

"That the amended FNQROC Charter be adopted".

CARRIED

1005 FNQROC Bank Account Maintenance (Report B77)

MOVED: Cr Marti **SECOND:** Cr Bawden

CARRIED

"That FNQROC open an ANZ Business Online Saver account and close the ANZ V2 Account"



"That on all FNQROC bank accounts it is 'two to sign' with the signatories being:

- a. FNQROC Executive Officer
- b. FNQROC Chair
- c. FNQROC Deputy Chair
- d. CEO of the Chairs Council; and
- e. CEO of Cairns Regional Council

"That current signatories not fulfilling these roles be removed"
1006 Conclusion
There being no further business the meeting was declared closed at 09:15 am.
Cr Michael Kerr, Chair